Pennsylvania | Insurance Law
Legal Question
Teen Driver
My son just got his learner's permit. Does he need his own insurance, or is he covered under our car insurance until he gets his license?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Richard Teitell |
Re: Teen Driver I had the same question when my child obtained a permit several years ago. The issue is not if he needs his own ins policy, it's whether or not he needs to be added as an authorized driver under your policy. My ins co told me there's no need to add a child to the policy until he/she actually gets a license. I suggest you call your auto ins co & see if you get the same answer. When he gets a license you just need to add him as an authorized driver. Also, in order to provide full coverage to you & your family, make sure your auto policy provides for "full tort" (not limited tort), which means full right to sue, & also has uninsured motorist coverage & underinsured motorist coverage. Please contact me if you do not know what that means. Good luck!! |
Top Attorneys in PA
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
DIAMONDLAWYER
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 684
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-16
Law Office of Andrew A. Solomon
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Richard K. Teitell, Esquire, P.C.
Bala Cynwyd, PA
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-31
Cohen, Placitella & Roth, P.C.
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-22
Senker Law Office
Plymouth Meeting, PA
Questions Answered: 235
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Search Questions and Answers


