Pennsylvania  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
6/12/03, 5:27 pm

Legal Question


Not provided Due Process in Courtroom

Received speeding ticket for 17 mph over limit. Sent in ticket requesting a hearing, pleading not guilty. Went to court today. Officer spoke with me outside informing of what he planned to say. I said nothing but followed him into the courtroom. Judge did not ask my name, did not swear me in, did not ask how I planned to plead. The judge did not speak to me and I in return was not given an opportunity to speak. The officer told the judge that ''we'' decided to pay a fine and receive reduced points. I was found guilty, fined $140 at 3:15 P.M. and told to have the money paid by 4:30 that same day. I also received 3 points on my driving record.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search