Rhode Island | Family Law
Legal Question
How long can my ex husband evade being served a child support hearing? He gave an address he is not residing in and appears to be living in a different state?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Christopher Pearsall |
A person who is exceptionally good at covering their tracks can evade service of papers for a child support hearing indefinitely.
Finding him may be easy or may be difficult depending how much you think about it and how determined you are to find him. If your ex-husband is outside the state of Rhode Island then you are going to have difficulty collecting against him. If you know he might be living in a different state then you must know something about where he has been or some reason to believe he is in another state.
A good investigator in this regard (I call them "skip tracers") can almost always find a trail somewhere to track him down. If you brainstorm long enough you can usually think of something he uses or someone he has contacted that leaves some trail of where he has been and where he has gone.
I'll try to locate and post an article I wrote many years ago about skip tracing. With any luck I can find it and post it on my website RhodeIslandDivorceTips.com be the end of the upcoming weekend.
If you need representation, a coaching session, or just more information that may be helpful, feel free to review my website at RhodeIslandDivorceCoaching.com.
My best to you no matter what you do in this matter. |
Top Attorneys in RI
Attorney Paul Lancia
Fall River, MA
Questions Answered: 372
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-27
LawyersCollaborative
Providence, RI
Questions Answered: 161
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-26
Law Office of Christopher A. Pearsall, Esquire
Coventry, RI
Questions Answered: 137
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Slepkow Slepkow & Associates, Inc.
East Providence, RI
Questions Answered: 116
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-06
D'Alessandro & Wright
Providence, RI
Questions Answered: 102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Law Office of Lori J. Norris
Warwick, RI
Questions Answered: 6
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-04
Attorney Nancy E. Wildes
Pawcatuck, CT
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-04
Karns Law Group
Middletown, RI
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-12-02
The Law Offices of Matthew T. Marin, Esq., Inc.
Providence, RI
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


