South Carolina  |  DUI Law

question bubble
11/09/09, 4:45 pm

Legal Question


Hello, I am in South Carolina and I was recently pulled over for speeding. It was 2:00am I had only drunken a little that night and the officer made me take sobriety test. After that I was taken to the station where I took the breath test and it registered a 0.16.

I cooperated with the officer and every way.

The officer charged me with DUAC and he said my license would be suspended for 30 days.

My bond was around 2200. I bonded out and now my court date is a month from now.

My cousin is a police officer in SC and he told me that I should get an attorney or public defender and try and make a deal with the officer and solicitors office for a lesser charge since its a DUAC such as reckless driving. He even told me to write a letter to the officer apologizing for that night and being out there. He told me to do this because the officer has the power to rewrite a ticket or speak to the judge about dismissal as well as a lighter punishment. He told me to try and avoid the actual court date and plea before.

I am confused on what to do though. I know that I cannot get out of it completely but I would like to know if you think the above advice was a good suggestion.

I do not have a great deal of money either I only work part time so and have a 2.5 year old son. What would be better to do get an attorney or a public defender. The most money I have to spend on either is about $400.

What are the chances of me getting jail time?

I have never been in trouble with the law in my life except for a small traffic ticket. What could possibly be the outcome.


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search