Tennessee  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
3/14/09, 4:20 pm

Legal Question


TN. locksmith licensing law

I have had a locksmith business in TN. since 2006. I have a felony burglary conviction from 1989. I have not been in any trouble since. In july, 2008 a new law was passed reqiuring all locksmiths in TN. to be licensed by the state,take a state exam,show commercial insurance and pass a background check. The law states that persons with fraud or theft felonies along with drug offences shall not be licensed. By doing this they are taking a property from me and forcing me to close. Is this legal? If you murder or rape someone you can still be licensed.Much worse crime.I also took the state of tennessee to court and could not get an injuction based on it was in the publics best intrests although they agreed that it would cause me irrepairable harm. Lastly I sent an application to the board of probation and parole seeking a pardon from my past crimes. I met all the governors criteria for a pardon be was denied and told I did not give a compelling enough reason for pardon and that I could not apply again until a new governor was in office. Losing my business and wanting to get a pardon to overcome any background checks for future employers is not compelling enough. I have been out of work since august. what can be done?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search