Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Tennessee

What does this actually mean; 'Your attendance is invited and your faliure to appear could result in the relief being granted ex parte.'

I received a letter from an attorney representing another attorney (both of the same law firm) who is the executor of my father's estate, the letter informed of filing/presenting the judge with a MOTION TO CONFIRM SALE AND TO DISTRIBUTE FUNDS and seek relief sought therein. It then states; Your attendance is invited, and your failure to appear could result in the relief being granted ex parte. The letter came with proof of service and a copy of the motion.

Asked on 3/30/12, 11:16 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Santosh Dash Legal Consultant
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

it means- in case you will not attend, the judgement will be given on hearing from the other party and we will not be entitled to object at a later time. it is optional for you

Read more
3/30/12, 11:29 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Tennessee

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88323 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now