Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Texas

I received a letter from a collection agency for a doctor bill in the amount of $534, I have not been to this doctor since 2006 or 2007 and I have not been receiving any bills from the doctor, the collection letter is demanding full payment within 30 days, I only have $1087/mo to live on and cannot afford to pay in full. Should I contact the doctor's office and see if I can set up some type of payment plan with them. If they had been sending me a bill I would have been paying a little along. Can I send the doctor's office a small payment without contacting them about it first? I barely scrape by and just cannot afford to pay this type of money all at once, it will be a strain to make small monthly payments. I found an old check stub and I had sent them $10 in Sept. 2007.

Asked on 3/19/11, 6:37 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Don't respond. Ignore them. They aren't going to sue you for this debt.

If they write to you again, ignore that letter too.

Read more
3/20/11, 2:02 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8812 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now