Legal Question in Employment Law in Texas

Labor Law Question

I am working for an employer that makes us all punch in/out on the time clock & docks us for going to the restroom. We get paid every two weeks; if we have used 16 minutes in going to the restroom in two weeks of work (which is 6 days/week) the manager rounds up the time to the next quarter, which in this example would be .50 minutes you are docked on your paycheck. Reason being when I was hired 3 weeks ago, was told ''it only took a few rotten apples to spoil it for everyone.'' I have been in the workforce 34 years, working in factors all the way to corporate postions. Even in working for an employer in which one had to use a time clock I have NEVER been docked, had to punch in/out just to go to the restroom. I could see them doing this to make sure your not abusing your time & taking 5-8 minutes for a bathroom break; BUT DOCKING YOUR PAY? Is this legal?

Asked on 10/07/07, 4:47 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Donald McLeaish McLeaish&Associates;, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Labor Law Question

Of course it is probably legal..organize a union and get a contract..

Read more
10/08/07, 8:42 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now