Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Texas

I recently signed a lease that does not begin for 2 weeks, I can no longer afford to move into the property. I have paid no rent monies, just a deposit which I understand will be forfeited and have no problem with and do not have keys to the property. Am I bound to this lease?

Asked on 9/21/13, 4:23 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Cynthia Henley Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If the lease is in effect, then it is in effect. You can try to bargain to get out of it.

Read more
Answered on 9/25/13, 1:09 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now