Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Texas

Oct 2010 my ex-wife died testate with 3 minor children who lived with her. The day of her death, her father, also the executor told me the children & I could not stay at my ex-wife's home because it was being foreclosed on.

two months ago i found the probated will online which was submitted for probate the day of her death and was not closed until Jan 2012 . I went to view the inventory at the harris county tx courthouse which had the home listed as being owned by the estate.

But on hcad tax records online, it shows someone else other than the estate owning the home.

can we still get the home back with the homestead act?

Asked on 8/09/13, 2:05 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Arthur Geffen Arthur H. Geffen, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The Texas right of redemption is only 180 days. I don't think you have much hope in getting it back.

Read more
Answered on 8/09/13, 8:28 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now