Utah  |  Family Law

question bubble
4/23/03, 10:19 pm

Legal Question


minor emancipation

Can a 17 year old high school student become emancipated from a parent if he can show that he will be supported by another family or must he be able to support himself? If his parents are divorced and have joint custody, can permission from just one parent allow the minor to leave his current home with his parent to stay with a third party? How difficult would this be for him to do? There is emotional abuse at his own home but it would not be an easy thing for him to prove. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search