Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Virginia

I received a garnishment summons for a civil suit that I lost last month. Even the judge basically told me to get more paper work and appeal but I just wanted to stop wasting my time with this low life. I sent out 2 checks each in the amount of $100 to a P.O box for his company and tried calling him, he wouldn't talk to me on the phone or return my calls to ask if he had received my checks since they weren't cashed, judgement was for $400. 30 days after judgement I received a notice of garnishment for $1030. I just feel like this guy is just trying to get what he can out of me, how do I fight this guy and just pay him his $400 and be done with it?

Asked on 11/29/10, 8:52 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Ask for a hearing on the Summons in Garnishment in the court from which it was issued.

Read more
12/04/10, 8:59 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8787 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now