Legal Question in Criminal Law in Virginia

Hello-

My fiancÚ's ex-husband just pulled up in front of our driveway and would not allow us to leave. We called the police and they wrote him a minor traffic ticket for blocking the driveway. They said they couldn't arrest him for trespassing since they did not witness him doing so, although he admitted to it and admitted to being told not to come on our property. My question is that when someone keeps you against your will by intimidation and blocking us in, doesn't this break some sort of major law like kidnapping or some other code? I live in Virginia and am tired of being harassed by him. Thank you for your time!

Asked on 10/06/13, 3:59 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No, not under the particular facts you've described as to what

apparently actually occurred in this situation (in my opinion).

Read more
10/07/13, 9:21 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now