Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Virginia

I have a tenant who is requesting the following items, are these cosmetic issues required by Virginia law. Please see tenants notes below:

1. As you are aware, the floor boards were damage when I had that water leak. Although the repairman said there was "non-urgent damage" to the kitchen and hallway flooring, it appears that over time, the floorboards seemed to have contracted, I guess as the moisture has dried up. The boards have started to separate, leaving noticeable spacing between boards. Although still perhaps a non-urgent matter, it is unsightly, particularly the kitchen.

2. That same individual bathroom tile that was fixed I believe twice before has come loose yet again. Because its in the middle of the bathroom floor, you can feel it moving and hear it "cracking against the grout" every time it is walked on.

Asked on 6/02/13, 7:20 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Cosmetic, yes, would appear so; required to now be repaired under applicable Virginia law, no (in my opinion).

Read more
Answered on 6/02/13, 7:32 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88413 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now