Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Virginia

I am a landlord of 1 unit, the condo I own, in Virgina. We recently rented our Condo to a couple in August 2009. They are now complaining of bed bugs and want us to pay for extermination. They ahve also recently traveled for their honeymoon out of the country.

I lived in the Condo for 2 years before they moved in and never had a bedbug problem. Also none of the units attached to the condo have any bedbug issues. Am I as the landlord responsible to pay?

Asked on 10/01/09, 2:37 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Maybe not, but is it worth litigating? (Perhaps, a 50-50 settlement could be negotiated?)

Read more
10/06/09, 3:06 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8661 active attorneys ready to answer your legal qustions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessHuntington Beach, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now