Virginia | Social Security Law
Legal Question
burials
I've heard that the Social Security Administration reimburses some of the funeral expenses, is this a fact?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sheri Abrams |
Re: burials Social Security will give a one time death benefit of $250. It does not have to be used for burial but it can be.
Generally, this is how it applies:
First, the surviving spouse who was living in the same household with the worker when he or she died can receive the lump sum payment.
Second, if there's no eligible spouse to receive the payment, the lump sum can be paid to the worker's child (or children) who was:
receiving benefits on the deceased worker's earnings record during the month in which the worker died; or
eligible to receive benefits.
|
Top Attorneys in VA
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
James E. Bowman PLLC
Ashland, VA
Questions Answered: 27
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-02-12
Heard & Smith, LLP
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-07
Law Office of Tara Candela, R.N., Esq., PLLC
Alexandria, VA
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-03
Ritchie Law Firm, PLC
Harrisonburg, VA
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-10
Mary G. Commander, Attorney At Law
Norfolk, VA
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-09-07
Frank Haskell, III
Upper Marlboro, MD
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-01-21
Dunlap & Grubb, P.C.
Winchester, VA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
The Law Office of Dwayne B. Strothers
Suffolk, VA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


