Virginia | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Does one have to have an executor AND a trustee named in a LAST WILL AND TESTAMENT? What is the difference?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Michael E. Hendrickson |
The answer is, no, unless what's called a testamentary trust is created in the will or already exists at the time of the testator's death(and there is a need for whatever reason to name a trustee).
The executor probates the will and administers the estate of the deceased testator while the trustee administers the referenced trust in behalf of the named beneficiaries. The executor's job is likely to end in no more than a couple of years whereas that of the trustee could go on for years (until the trust is terminated). |
Top Attorneys in VA
Attorney & Counsellor at Law
Alexandria,
Questions Answered: 20732
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Law Office of Cary Powell Moseley, PLLC
Lynchburg, VA
Questions Answered: 934
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-03
Law Offices of Paul B. Ward
Vienna,, VA
Questions Answered: 677
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Office of Jonathon Moseley
Reston, VA
Questions Answered: 677
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-25
Moseley & Associates Law Firm
Reston, VA
Questions Answered: 641
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Ruth Emily Kochard, Counselor at Law
Richmond, VA
Questions Answered: 415
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-21
Uptown Law, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Law Offices of Robert Beatson, II
Potomac, MD
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-21
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Search Questions and Answers


