Washington  |  Administrative Law

question bubble
11/04/09, 12:04 pm

Legal Question


Good morning,

My name is Steve and I had a relationship with a girl who I moved in with for 9 months. While living with her I had purchased a dog and now that we have seperated she took him. Her brother in law is a local Sherriff deputy and he tells me that because I purchased the dog while we were living together it is a civil matter and it's outside law enforcements hands. She occasionally keeps it at his house because she thinks I won't ask for my dog there, but I want to know where I stand. Is it partially her dog as well because we lived together or not?

Something that might make this matter more difficult is that we initally remained friends after the breakup so I allowed her to have the dog a few days a week for companionship. When she found out about my new girlfriend she told me she was keeping the dog and told me I wasn't alloud at her house anymore.

What can I do? My brother tells me that it does not seem right that the dog is half hers. If that were true then the house and car she bought while I lived with her would also be half mine. I don't want to be vandictive nor do I think I have the right to go after them, but I do want my dog back.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search