Washington  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
2/25/09, 10:38 pm

Legal Question


Merchandise Licensing Agreement

In 1992 I entered into a licensing

agreement (since misplaced) to

produce, manufacture and

distribute home videos and other

merchandise related to a locally

produced TV program. The

agreement was with the artist who

owns rights to video archives,

naming, etc... Terms were to pay

33% of profit in royalties to

artist/rights owner. I created and

distributed 4 videos for retail and

paid royalty to the owner under

agreement terms. Fast forward to

today...

I now learn that 3 of the video

titles I produced are now being

packaged together with another

program I did not produce, and are

being sold as a compilation. The 3

titles I produced are included in

their entirety. It has become a

strong seller for the business that

is selling them. They are also selling

other related merchandise I

produced under the license

agreement.

Without being able to locate my

copy of the agreement, would you

think I have some rights to the sale

of my productions?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search