Wisconsin | Business Law
Legal Question
Engine failure
I drive a dirt open-wheel modified and last year we purchased a brand new engine from a local engine shop. The engine was $14,000 and we ran it for four nights(approx. 100 laps). On the fourth night it blew up and everything was completely junk. The only salvagable thing was the heads worth about $3,000. In the first four nights we knew something was wrong and the engine was taken back to him three times and he gave us the okay every time. I am wondering if there is a possibility that I could get any money back from this guy. We also had the heads looked at and it had valve-springs that are for an OEM vehicle. The engine was not right right off of the bat. That is why we took it to him three times while it was still good. I realize there is no warranty on race engines but there's got to be something we can do. $14,000 is a lot of money. Can I get any money back?


