Wisconsin | Technology Law
Legal Question
I hired a computer software company to make an application for me. I have paid $15K down, and total was more than they quoted. They said $40K total, now that it's done they say it costs $53K. I have not been able to come up with the rest as of yet to pay for it. This was a verbal agreement, nothing in writing. They are now charging me 22% interest on the balance, which is over $7K per month! They have also changed the password for the demo online so that I cannot present this and try to sell it so I can pay them. #1 - Can they charge me interest with no contract or signed anything? #2 - Can they deny me access when I have paid $15K toward product? #3 - Technically, product has not been delivered, so how can they charge interest and threaten $7K per month added on?


