Legal Question in Construction Law in India

I have recently got my flat renovated. In the earlier design, there were 2 bathrooms. Since the bathrooms were of bigger size, I got one of the bathroom converted into 2 bathrooms & now there are 3 bathrooms. Before starting the renovation, I had submitted a letter to society stating that I am undertaking renovation work & that there would be some layout changes as well, though the extend of changes was not mentioned. At that moment, society did not raise any concern. During renovation, I ensured that there are no damages done to building structure & that there are no leakages to any other flat. Now, after the renovation is completed, society tells me that the construction of 3rd bathroom is illegal. I would like to understand, if I am allowed to construct 2 bathrooms out of one bathroom & whether this change is really illegal?

Asked on 6/04/14, 3:14 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Fca Prashant Chavan Expert Edge LLP


Dear Sir / Madam,

Constructing two bathrooms of one bathroom at the same place where the original bathroom is, cannot be considered as an illegal construction as per the Society's act.


Read more
Answered on 6/04/14, 4:56 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Construction Law questions and answers in India