Legal Question in Criminal Law in India

A Christian friend of mine had a debate via email with a rival Christian on yoga. My friend supported yoga as a physical exercise but forbid the worship of Hindu gods since according to him, it might result in demonic possession.

The rival Christian is of the opinion that since yoga is inseparable from Hinduism, it is prohibited completely for Christians.

My friend was winning the debate and hence the rival Christian due to personal enmity and jealousy decided to file a case under Sec 295A (blasphemy) and Sec 153A (promoting enmity) against my friend. Can police arrest my friend and can he be convicted?

Asked on 5/25/22, 6:34 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

The police may take action against you and also arrest if the FIR would be lodged against you.

Read more
Answered on 6/08/22, 12:56 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in India