Legal Question in Criminal Law in India

What is the time of starting the time of of offence u/s 138 means:

"Offence under section 138 NI is completed when in spite of notice of dishonour accused fails to make payment within period of 15 days" What is the time of starting of offence u/s 138 means:

1a) whether the time when loan is taken or 1 b) when the cheque is issued/handed over or 1 c).when the cheque is presented in the bank or 1 d). When the cheque is dishonored or 1 e) when the 15 days completes after giving/receiving notice of dishonor of cheque.

Or 1 f) when any act of above five is done ,

Asked on 7/19/21, 5:30 am

1 Answer from Attorneys


Offence u/s 138 NIA is complete on the date which is 16th day from the date of receipt of Demand Notice after dishonor of cheque.

Read more
Answered on 7/23/21, 12:25 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in India