Legal Question in Consumer Law in Arizona

We recently purchased a truck back in August. At the time of sale everything was signed and they took the trade. That night we drove the truck up. The next day they called and stated that we owed money, approximately $65. Almost a month and a half later, they e-mail me and stated that I never paid the down payment on the vehicle. They were holding my registration and license until I responded back. So I responded back and told them that I paid cash. Next thing I know, the finance guy is coming to my work tellling me that I have to pay $5300 or they will take me to court. He stated he was not threatening me but it sure sounded like it. Then we received a letter (on a very plain piece of paper) in the mail from an attorney stating that it was not "an idle threat" but we needed to pay. Does this seem right that I was able to leave the dealership without paying then I go back the next day and pay my balance yet now they are claiming I owe them more money? Will I have to pay this or should I see where it goes?

Asked on 9/21/10, 7:48 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Debra Palomino PALOMINO LAW FIRM, P.C.

The terms of your purchase agreement will control. However, if you paid cash, you would need some proof of paying the seller.

Read more
Answered on 9/27/10, 7:14 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Arizona