Legal Question in Criminal Law in Arizona

I need help writing a letter to the sentencing judge, on behalf of my husband, who could be facing up to 60 years in prison! He was found guilty of 1 count of aggravated assault w/ a deadly weapon(a vehicle that my husband was sitting in the passenger seat of) against a police officer(a class 2 felony) and 1 count of possession of dangerous drugs(a class 4 felony) and he was on probation for two class 6 felonies and one class 3 felony at the time he was accused of committing these crimes so at sentencing, the judge will be sentencing him on the probation violations as well as the his new charges. The assault charge carries a mandatory minimum sentence of 15.75 years flat, but he can get as much as 33 years, and then if he wants to, the judge could make all of his sentences run consecutively. We have been married for over 7 years and we have a 2 daughters together, a 5 and a 6 year old. He also has 3 more kids, a 10 year old daughter, a 12 year old son and a 15 year old daughter who is going to have his first grandchild in June. We are planning on appealing the assault charge so i'm not sure what i can or should say about it. My husband didn't hurt anyone, the officer even testified that "he had a slight pain in his wrist that may or may not have been caused by the incident" and that's it! He didn't hurt anyone! He didn't even attempt to hurt anyone! He is a good person and his 5 kids and I really need him! Our entire relationship, he has done whatever he had to do in order to provide for and support our family. As a Father he was always trying to teach his kids to be kind and caring by doing things like giving his 4 and 5 year old daughter's all the money he had on him and then leading them by the hand to a homeless woman and having them give the money to her and then explained to them that no matter how bad we may think our lives are, it can always be so much worse! As a husband he was such a thoughtful and devoted spouse, doing things like coming home after working a 10 hour day and cooking dinner for his family and then doing the dishes afterwards.

I'm sure this was way more info than needed but I wanted you to know the situation.


Asked on 4/18/12, 2:49 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Brian Di Pietro Brian DiPietro Law, PLLC

You can write to the judge what you wrote in this request. This is the information you want the judge to know about your husband. His lawyer should have given you suggestions as to format.

Read more
Answered on 4/18/12, 2:01 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Arizona