Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Arizona

My mother received a mortgage release, satisfaction, and discharge document in 2007, but she did not do anything with it because the tax preparer who gave her the documents told her they were invalid. She recently found the documents last year. We contacted HUD and they told us the mortgage was terminated, or paid off, in 2007. However, my mother refinanced with NationStar around 2009, and has been making mortgage payments every month ever since. What we would like to know is that if the documents are valid then has the mortgage been paid off, and if so why have we been paying on a mortgage with NationStar? Also, if the contract with NationStar was entered into by mistake, or unknowingly, as my mother was ignorant of the fact her mortgage was paid off, can she cancel her mortgage with NationStar, and/or stop paying her mortgage, as well as receive a refund of all payments mistakenly made since the origination of the contract? Thank you.

Asked on 1/11/17, 2:18 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Burton The Law Office of John Burton, PLLC

Please feel free to call for a complimentary consultation.

John Burton, Esq.

(602) 617-8516

[email protected]

Read more
Answered on 1/12/17, 8:35 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Arizona