Legal Question in Consumer Law in California

I just got back a denial letter from the claims rep. at SCE regarding the 24 hours power outage that turned my groceries into mush. I filled out the necessary online forms and copies of my grocery receipts. Mr. Kafka's rationale ( claims rep) was that there was "significant damage to an underground cable" ( I certainly didn't cause it ) and that "SCE cannot guarantee a continuous supply free of interruptions ". If they cannot guarantee a continuous supply free of interruptions, why do they have a claims process at all? This rationale exonerates SCE from ALL responsibilities connected to an outage. I would love to know if my little town- Nuevo- is overrepresented in terms of outages ( red headed step children) and if claims are EVER paid out. I want my neighbors to be paid for their losses and some contextual info- how many outages in SoCal since Jan. 1, how many in my zip code ( 92567), how many claims were filed and how many were paid out. My claim # is 202207951. My first claim ever and I have been with them for DECADES.


Asked on 8/04/22, 11:51 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

You have not asked a legal question for us to answer.

Read more
Answered on 8/05/22, 10:09 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in California