Legal Question in Consumer Law in California

Cen Cal awarded a family of three $500 a month for food. After approx. 2 yrs. the case worker told them that they had made a mistake and that the family should of only received $100 a month. $500 a month is hard for any family to live on but $100 a month is impossible. Then the worker said it was their fault but regardless the family had to pay over $2,000 back to Cen Cal. If this family had that kind of money they wouldn't of need the assistance in the first place.

This is totally unfair because the family had no idea they weren't supposed to receive $500 a month. My question is why when the social worker admitted they were at fault should this family have to pay back money when they had no idea they were not entitled to it according to the social worker,

It seems totally unfair, is there anything that can be done about this.


Asked on 8/04/21, 10:57 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

You already asked this question and received an answer.

Read more
Answered on 8/05/21, 7:28 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in California