Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in California

A divorce attorney and I had a written fee agreement that I was to receive an invoice quarterly. I put up a $5,000 retainer and on multiple occasions asked the attorney how much was left of my initial deposit. I made it clear I needed to budget for the remaining bills, and I also had no way of telling how much I was being charged. I was told that I would get an invoice soon but this did not occur for another 4 months, 1 year after the initial hire. There are multiple questionable charges and now the attorney is asking for another $9,000 in addition to the $5,000 I have already given. What should I do?


Asked on 2/14/22, 7:53 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

File a complaint and demand for fee arbitration with the State Bar.

Read more
Answered on 2/15/22, 12:25 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California