Legal Question in Entertainment Law in California

Online Poker Collusion

Myself and 2 other partners have developed a collusion scheme to be utilized within an online gambling facility. The company that provides the virtual poker room is located offshore in the South Pacific.

If we were to get caught by the Poker company themself, what are the maximum penalties they could envoke against us, other than shutting down our accounts? Are we bound by the laws of California or the laws of the country of where the online casino exists?

If we were in a state where gambling was legal (e.g. Nevada), and the casino thought that we were partaking in a collusion scheme (hand signals, etc), could they prosecute?

Any insight is appreciated.

Asked on 11/11/03, 1:16 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kim Kirby Davis Dixon Kirby LLP

Re: Online Poker Collusion

This is not an entertainment and sports law question but rather a criminal law question. I'd resend and tag it as such.

Read more
Answered on 11/11/03, 1:20 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Entertainment & Sport Law questions and answers in California