Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

There are 3 tenants on the lease one of them is ready to move and wants there name off the lease but the owner is saying the only way for her to get her name off is to put in a 30 day notice which would also require the other two tenants who want to stay to move out as well. Before all parties signed the lease they were told that tenant 1 would be able to take her name off because she wasn't going to staying there and as long as the other 2 tenants continued to pay rent on time it wouldn't be a problem. It's been 6 months and the rent has been paid on time with no help from the 3rd tenant. Is this legal? How can one tenant get their name off the lease without it effecting the others?

Asked on 9/04/14, 4:52 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Roach Law Office of Anthony A. Roach

Unless the lease states otherwise I see no reason why one tenant cannot be allowed to move and have the written lease simply amended with the agreement of the remaining parties.

Read more
Answered on 9/08/14, 9:07 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California