Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

When you are approved for a house rental and they draw up the lease contract & it has the pet deposit as nonrefundable. Is there a limit of what they can charge for one dog. Agreement states $500.00 nonrefundable. Is that legal in the state of CA?

Asked on 11/02/15, 11:16 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Brian Rosales Harris, Rosales & harris

There is no such thing as a non-refundable deposit. The limit on a deposit is twice the monthly rent for an unfurnished unit. (three times for a furnished unit) That limit applies to all deposits combined.

Read more
Answered on 11/02/15, 11:29 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California