Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

First, thank you so much Atty. Anthony Roach, I'll never forget you sir. The Apt. Manager authorized a Towing Company to tow parking violators inside the complex of more than 15 units. April 23, 2014, my car was towed despite being a tenant, parked legally on the same spot for the last 4 years -I paid towing fee despite. I found Towing Co. violated 6 provisions of the California Vehicle Code 22658. I found landlord violated 4 provisions of same CVC., violations carry penal provisions : Fines, 3 months imprisonment. I filed complaint with Dept of Consumer Affairs/District Attorney -nothing happened.

The Apt. Manager increased my rent 21% : I received notice July 17, 2014 but was made to pay the new rate on August 1, 2014 the date our rent contract expires. I was issued 3 day notice of eviction twice when I paid old rate. I inquired with Head Office of Apt. explaining effectivity of new rate should be after 60 days from notice. Obnoxious Old lady said effectivity after 30 days. I politely said 60 days but she would not let me speak my explanation overwhelming me with her loud voice and always pointing her finger with a pencil at my face. I politely said please don't point your fingers at me because you might poke my eyes. She rose up and screamed at me to get out of the office threatening to call the police. She slammed the door behind me. ( reviews at YELP mentioned this obnoxious lady actually). I paid the new rate coz I dont want to receive another eviction notice. We have sent the landlord a notice to terminate our contract after 30 days up to Oct 3,2014. I want to sue them, I felt so insulted, harassed , I am so hurt, I felt so alone nobody can help me even the goverment agencies. Your advice sir please, did I do the right thing? Am I right with my opinions?

Asked on 9/08/14, 3:26 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Roach Law Office of Anthony A. Roach

I suggest at least suing over the fees and any costs you incurred to get your car out of the tow yard and impound.

Read more
Answered on 9/09/14, 5:10 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California