Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

my landlord messaged me this. i’m in california, and we like to keep our windows open when it’s nice out so when we come home our room is cold and isn’t too stuffy and hot. in our lease is says NOTHING of needed to close our windows, and when we signed it none of these rules were said.

from landlords:

Hello All, as you know we have reviewed the house rules and submitted them to Wave to distribute. I would like to remind all tenants that the rules where only going to be submitted by all of the tenants to Dennis and I for approval. The list of rules we the landlords have agreed on have been sent by Wave. You do not need to sign anything because you have already signed the lease and the section referenced on the lease is on the house rules. As per our previous discussion, if the tenants cannot unanimously agree on an issue brought forth Dennis and I would decide. The safeguard of every tenants personal belongings and person are of the utmost concern. Therefor no windows or doors are to be left open while the tenants are away from their respective bedrooms or general living area. This is not up for discussion. We would also like to remind all tenants that Wave is the house manager and is in charge of the house as a whole. If any tenant is not in agreement and would like to discuss other options with regards to their lease agreement, Dennis and I would be available to have that discussion. Thank you all, Dennis & Sally Litman

how does adding it onto our lease work if we didn’t agree or sign anything to be added to our lease? can they do that? and if so could they say for example; “all tenants are now to run 5 laps around the house every day to check for any burglars that may be around the property.” would that be just added to our lease with no say from us? please help we feel we are being taken advantage of.


Asked on 11/05/21, 9:40 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

There is no way to answer this without reviewing the exact terms of the lease and any other documents related to it, such as written house rules previously in existence.

Read more
Answered on 11/09/21, 10:21 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California