Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

In the state of Oregon, how long does a rental company have to send a letter of accounting of damages? We moved out of our apartment and handed over the keys on of 7/28/21 our lease agreement was until 7/31/21. We received a letter in the mail on 10/20/21 that is dated 10/17/21 requesting payment for close out of rental agreement (final utilities (which already paid on 8/2), damages, cleaning, and painting) totaling $603.27, deducted our security deposit of $99 and requesting payment by 10/25/21 of the remaining $504.27. Of note, the invoice shows cleaning, carpet shampooing and paint was billed on 8/6/21 but have not received or heard anything from the complex until now. I did a final walk through with the manager of the apartment on 7/28/21 which we agreed that the deposit should cover the cost of "damages". I signed an agreement stating we did a walk through but the manager left the extra fee's blank. Also note that the invoice states we moved out 8/1/21 which dates it past the date I handed over the keys.I also took pictures and videos of the apartment prior to moving out but because it was past 60 days I deleted all pictures. I do understand that Oregon law gives 31 days to owners/agents to present the deposit or accounting. Do I have to pay these fee's since its after 80 days?


Asked on 10/21/21, 1:10 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

This is an Oregon law issue. You asked it as a California question. The laws are different from state to state. You need to re-post your question as in Oregon question.

Read more
Answered on 10/22/21, 8:38 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California