Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

My family of 5 (three kids under 7) have been asked to leave our home after 7 years, where we have paid rent on time, and have had no problems. The landlord's reasoning is that he needs to redo the deck and re wire the house. two issues we have been addressing with him for over 6 months now yet he has ignored. Now, he has given us 60 days to move out. Also note that we have put 4,000 of remodel work into this apartment, as well as 1000 into the front yard, both less than a year ago. Please let me know what I can do, if anything. I've been told that they are supposed to pay our moving fees, is that right too?

Thank you for your time!


Asked on 9/14/21, 3:18 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

The rules on renovation move-outs varies by city and county. I suggest you contact this group for help in your local area: https://www.tenantstogether.org/resources/san-diego-tenants-united

Read more
Answered on 9/15/21, 10:23 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California