Legal Question in Personal Injury in California

Hello,

In August of 2020, my dog, Cooper, (mix of Boxer, Bulldog and American Staffordshire bit a small dog being walked by a neighbor (the dog was eventually euthanized by its owners). The owner was not bit by Cooper.

Recently, I received a noticed from OC Animal Care (OCAC) wanting to categorize Cooper as a vicious/potentially dangerous dog.

This is the only incident of Cooper biting another dog (he is a rescue dog -- so I am not sure if he's been in another incident, but I am assuming not).

From what I read from Cal Fod and Ag Code, sections 31602 "Potentially dangerous dog" and "31603 "Vicious dog”, Cooper doesn't see like a match.

I am looking for an attorney to contact OCAC on my behalf.

Thank you,


Asked on 1/21/22, 11:06 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

You need to contact the Orange County Bar Assn lawyer referral service. This is a question and answer service for simple specific legal questions.

Read more
Answered on 1/23/22, 4:04 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in California