Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in California

My Mother is dying eminently. I am her POA, Executor and sole beneficiary of her estate. She has 270,000 in Assets. 55,000 in precious metals and the rest in cash. She has no debt. She has not exhausted her lifetime amount that she can give before having to pay gift tax. We are trying to decide if she should gift me the bulk of her assets now or report it all and wait through the process. I Would like to avoid probate, and in CA I believe if an estate is worth more than 189,000 probate is mandatory. What would you think would be the best plan.


Asked on 12/01/22, 11:24 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

If she is still of sound mind, put it all in a revocable living trust immediately.

Read more
Answered on 12/02/22, 8:58 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in California