I was charged with a vor in 2000. Originally a felony. Due to the circumstances of the violation was changedto midemeanor. What are the statute of limitations for such a case?
2 Answers from Attorneys
18 months for misdemeanor and 3 years for felony
all they have to do is file the case in court to satisfy the statute
you may have a constitutional speedy trial violation
there may have other ways to win or favorably plea the case - but you will need a lawyer to help
Statute of limitations requires that you be charged by a certain time. If, as you say, you were charged in 2000, Statute of limitations has been met. Your argument must go forward, as Mr. Savela stated, as a violation of your right to a speedy trial.
Related Questions & Answers
I was arrested for a misdemeanor charge back in 2011 for "Fraud sale of tickets... Asked 3/10/14, 1:50 pm in United States Colorado Criminal Law
My son was arrested on 3 misdemeanor (I think) charges and will see a judge on... Asked 2/17/14, 12:15 am in United States Colorado Criminal Law