Legal Question in Traffic Law in Colorado

I run into this issue every work day, and I'd like to be sure I understand the traffic laws in this situation in Colorado: At a stop light four-way intersection, I turn left. I am turning onto a two-lane (in each direction) roadway, and I always take the nearest lane. There is a line of cars turning right onto the same roadway, but they regularly turn into either lane, not necessarily the closest. My question is this: do right-turners (on a green light) have right-away to both lanes, or only the nearest? I believe because there are two lanes, both sides of the intersection only have right-away to the nearest open lane.

Asked on 12/18/13, 3:15 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Damon Cassens Waters, Kubik, and Cassens

I depends on the jurisdiction, but in general one must turn into the nearest lane.

However, there is no shortage of people that drive poorly. Sometimes simply being right will have to be enough. Beats bent metal.

Read more
Answered on 12/18/13, 3:41 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Colorado