Legal Question in Legal Ethics in Connecticut

Can a paralegal give their opinion regarding a contract without it being considered legal advice?

A small company (not a law office) has advertised employment specifically for a paralegal. I interviewed with them and they said that part of the job would be to read contracts and give my opinion regarding the contracts. I asked if they had an attorney on staff and they said no. They do have an attorney but "do not want to pay him $300 an hour to read a contract when a paralegal can do the same thing".

Although the opinion would not be given to a client, it would be given to the employer who would make a decision based on that opinion and this is where I do not know if it falls into the category of giving legal advice.

Asked on 7/31/10, 10:37 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Linda Subbloie Linda A. Subbloie, Esq.

That's a very good question.

I think you can explain the terms of the contract, or what you interpret the terms to mean, as any layperson would. I don't think you can render a legal opinion about those terms.

Read more
Answered on 8/06/10, 2:56 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility questions and answers in Connecticut