Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Connecticut

401k question

My sister's husband passed away a little over a year ago.   After more than 10 years of marriage, he overlooked naming her the beneficiary of his 401K plan which he had prior to his marriage.  He has no kids.  He has living Parents, brother and sisters.   Who is entitled to it if no one was named as the beneficiary.   They reside in the state of Connecticut.  

Asked on 3/04/12, 6:19 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Heffernan Heffernan Legal Group, LLP

Most 401K plans specify that if there is no named beneficiary, then it goes to his estate. If he hed a will, it will be added to the residuum of the estate; if he had no will, it will go to the surviving spouse.

Read more
Answered on 3/05/12, 6:09 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Connecticut