Legal Question in Disability Law in District of Columbia

disability discrimination

I have been volunteering with an organization for 13 years. I became employed at a local branch in 2003 by same organization and continued working on national level assignments. 5 years ago I was given a waiver for the Driver License req. due to a doctor's letter saying I have 0 Stereo Acuity and was not recommended to drive. I have continued to perform the work and in fact was on a national assignment as recently as July 2007. I applied for an employment position doing what I did while on assignment in July and was offered employment. After accepting employment it was rescinded because of inability to drive. Driving or lack there of did not effect my ability to perform all essential job functions in fact it was recommended by a supervisor that I apply for the position which I did. Is this discrimination or not?

Asked on 10/09/07, 10:59 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Hendrickson Law Office Michael E. Hendrickson

Re: disability discrimination

No, I would think not but why not take the matter up with your supervisor or HR?

Read more
Answered on 10/12/07, 12:31 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Disability Discrimination Law (ADA) questions and answers in District of Columbia