Legal Question in Admiralty Law in Florida

The transfer of a Boat Title:

I recently purchased a boat. I MADE the purchase by paying for the boat (cash) via a wire transfer to a "friend". ( I was in NJ at the time - he in Florida ) He then received the title from the previous owner. This "friend" took liberties and signed the title, when in fact he knew all along that it was my boat and he was the person exchanging the monies, etc. Now I have signed my name as co-purchaser. Obviously I am no longer "friends" with this person and I am trying to take possession of my boat. The title has not been processed in either his name or mine yet. I want to title the boat in my name - get him off the title and then sell the boat. ** The only point I feel is in my favor is that this individual has an expired ID but then again he will soon be in possession of his birth certificate as ID. Can I get the title back to my name only and get him off completely? I do not have the phone number of the original owner and it is my understanding that he has processed paperwork on his end and that I'm afraid the Florida powers that be already have my friend listed as the legal owner. I don't know that to be a fact, however. Thanks for any advice! Petra

Asked on 4/02/10, 9:21 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

Only a court can figure this out. Good luck.

Read more
Answered on 4/07/10, 1:23 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Admiralty Law questions and answers in Florida