Legal Question in Admiralty Law in Florida

If a vessel is docked behind a private residence at no cost originally. Can the owner of the home leave one message for the owner on a voice mail and then three days later have it towed to a different marina and put a chain on it? THis actually happened. Now a letter has been received that many of the items have been taken from the boat and deemed abandoned. They have been placed in a storage fascility and are being held until an amount of money is paid to the home owner that is almost 6 times higher than the highest dockage rate anywhere in the area. The letter states that if the amount is not paid the items will not be returned but will be deemed abandoned and sold. Can someone do this? Items taken are well in excess of claimed dockage even at the exagerated rate.

Asked on 3/01/10, 1:51 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

If you let him, he will. It is up to you to bring an action to stop it.

Read more
Answered on 3/06/10, 3:25 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Admiralty Law questions and answers in Florida