Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Florida

I got a notice that a debt collector has filed a wage garnishment order against me in the mail yesterday. I do not remember when I initially stopped making payments on the card in question but a final judgment was filed in May of 2012 which states that the plaintiff, FIA card services (Bank of America I believe) shall recover from defendant (me) a total of $2,161.07. That was over 9 years ago. From what I googled, the statute of limitations in Florida for credit card debt is 5 years. Can they still collect on this or am I protected by the statute of limitations? If I'm not protected, would a judge have the power to dismiss the case since it's been so long? I realize that might depend on what mood the judge is in that day but I'm trying to figure out what my options are.

Asked on 10/05/21, 7:29 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

A judgment is good for 10 years and they can then extend for another 10. Did they?

Read more
Answered on 10/05/21, 7:59 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Florida