Legal Question in Education Law in Florida

I am filling out a State Scholarship program for school. One of the questions is as follows: "Have you ever BEEN CONVICTED of a felony or a first degree misdemeanor or entered a plea of no contest or nolo contendere to a felony charge AND your civil rights were NOT RESTORED by the Florida Governor and Cabinet sitting as the Executive Board of Clemency?"

I have a Retail Theft charge, however, I did Pre-trial Diversion and my case disposition is ADMINISTRATIVE DISMISSED.

Should I still answer YES to the question above?

Asked on 2/10/13, 9:53 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Joseph Justice The Justice Law Firm

No you should answer NO. You completed a diversion program and as such you were never convicted or entered a plea on the charge. You may also want to look into having that charge expunged so that it is erased entirely.

Read more
Answered on 2/11/13, 6:46 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Education Law questions and answers in Florida