Legal Question in Family Law in Florida

I adopted my granddaughter when she was 14 in 2013. Her father paid for the adoption. She was out of control, which no one told me, I just wanted her back in my life. She turned out to be a hellion who got pregnant, left my home, got married, had her baby taken away, then she moved back in with me in 2017. At that time she stole ALL of my jewelry along with my mother's, both my grandmother's, my father's, and both grandfather's. All of my guns, some of them family heirlooms, and more items from my home before leaving again and I haven't seen or talked to her since. She has stolen my identity at least twice I know of. I don't have the money to do an adoption reversal. I don't want to be legally responsible for her and I don't want to be legally obligated to leave her anything when I die. Please what else can I do? Thank you 🙏

Asked on 8/06/22, 8:52 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

She is 25. You are not responsible for her. Make sure you disinherit her in your will.

Read more
Answered on 8/07/22, 6:38 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Florida