Legal Question in Health Care Law in Florida

To whom it may concern,

If a nurse practitioner licensed in FL works for a MD who gives signed prescriptions to the ARNP so that they can continue to see patients regardless of their needs (ie, refills for controlled substances including sleep aides, anti-anxiety medicine, and narcotics), what would be the legal ramifications if the MD were to be caught doing this? Surely the MD would lose his license and be put in jail, but what would happen to the ARNP? Granted they can find employment elsewhere to prevent this occurrence, but for the sake of the inquiry, is it clear what would happen legally to the ARNP?

Thank you,

A concerned ARNP

Asked on 9/03/10, 4:11 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Wagner Wagner, McLaughlin & Whittemore P.A.

The ARNP would have some license exposure as well, especially if she was practicing medicine wityhout a license.

Read more
Answered on 9/11/10, 1:29 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Health Care Law questions and answers in Florida